SOUTH AFRICA



South Africa Facts

- **Population** 58.5 million.
- **Government** Democracy.
- Languages 11 official languages. IsiZula, Afrikanns, English, IsiXhosa, SiSwati, Sesotha, Xitsonga, Sepedi, IsiNdebele, Setswana, Tshivenda.
- **Religion** Many Christians and Muslins, but also Jews and other faiths.
- **Currency** South African Rand.
- **History** -South Africa was led by Apartheid Leaders until Nelson Mandela was set free from prison and became the first democratically elected leader in South Africa in 1994.
- **National Symbol** Protea (Flower), Springbok (Antelope).
- **Climate** Mostly mild to hot in summer, cold nights, snowfall in winter.
- Capital Cities South Africa has three capitals, one for each branch of government. Pretoria is the administrative capital of South Africa. Cape Town is the legislative capital and Bloemfontein is the judicial capital.







